MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE NORTHWEST SPECIAL RECREATION ASSOCIATION HELD AT CHANDLERS' BANQUETS ON THE 13TH DAY of DECEMBER 2023 AT 10:30 A.M.

Chairman Ferraro called the meeting to order at 10:34 a.m. Administrative Manager Vasalos took roll call. The following members of the Board were present: Carrie Fullerton, Arlington Heights Park District; Rita Fletcher, Bartlett Park District; Erika Strojinc, Buffalo Grove Park District; Ben Curcio, Elk Grove Park District; Steve Bessette, Hanover Park Park District; Craig Talsma, Hoffman Estates Park District; Jim Jarog, Mt. Prospect Park District; Benjamin Rea, Palatine Park District; Christina Ferraro, Prospect Heights Park District; Bret Fahnstrom, River Trails Park District; Kevin Romejko, Rolling Meadows Park District; Diane Hilgers, Salt Creek Park District; Tony LaFrenere, Schaumburg Park District; Jay Morgan, South Barrington Park District; Jeff Janda, Streamwood Park District; Jan Buchs, Wheeling Park District

Absent: Robert Dowling

Also present: Tracey Crawford, Executive Director; Gazmend Meni, Superintendent of Finance; Tom Draper Superintendent of Marketing and Communication; Darleen Negrillo, Superintendent of Administrative Services and Jessica Vasalos, Administrative Manager as recording secretary

Introduction of Guests

None

Public Comment

None

Approval of Agenda

Chairman Ferraro asked for a motion to approve the agenda dated December 13, 2023. Director Romejko made the motion and Director Fullerton seconded the motion. Upon voice vote, the motion carried.

Approval of Consent Agenda

Chairman Ferraro called for a motion to approve the Consent Agenda of December 13, 2023. Director Janda made the motion and Director LaFrenere seconded the motion to approve the Consent Agenda dated December 13, 2023. Upon roll being called the vote was as follows:

AYA: Carrie Fullerton, Rita Fletcher, Erika Strojinc, Ben Curcio, Steve Bessette, Craig Talsma, Jim Jarog, Ben Rea, Christina Ferraro, Bret Fahnstrom, Kevin Romejko, Diane Hilgers, Tony LaFrenere, Jay Morgan, Jeff Janda, Jan Buchs

NAY: None

The motion carried.

Correspondence

None

Staff Reports

None

Old Business

FY2024 Executive Committee

Executive Director Crawford asked for a motion to approve the 2024 NWSRA Executive Committee as presented in the Board packet. Director Fahnstrom made the motion to approve 2024 NWSRA Executive Committee as presented. Director LaFrenere seconded the motion. Upon voice vote the motion was carried.

FY 2024 Budget Approval

Executive Director Crawford asked for a motion to approve the FY2024 NWSRA Budget as presented. Director LaFrenere made the motion to approve 2024 NWSRA Executive Committee as presented. Director Romejko seconded the motion. Upon roll being called the vote was as follows:

AYA: Carrie Fullerton, Rita Fletcher, Erika Strojinc, Ben Curcio, Steve Bessette, Craig Talsma, Jim Jarog, Ben Rea, Christina Ferraro, Bret Fahnstrom, Kevin Romejko, Diane Hilgers, Tony LaFrenere, Jay Morgan, Jeff Janda, Jan Buchs

NAY: None

The motion carried.

New Business

Appointment of Legal Counsel

Chairman Ferraro asked for a motion to approve Robbins, Schwartz, Nicholas, Lifton & Taylor, Ltd as legal counsel for one year for NWSRA. Director LaFrenere made the motion and Director Morgan seconded the motion to approve Robbins, Schwartz, Nicholas, Lifton & Taylor, Ltd as legal counsel for one year for NWSRA. Upon roll being called the vote was as follows:

AYA: Carrie Fullerton, Rita Fletcher, Erika Strojinc, Ben Curcio, Steve Bessette, Craig Talsma, Jim Jarog, Ben Rea, Christina Ferraro, Bret Fahnstrom, Kevin Romejko, Diane Hilgers, Tony LaFrenere, Jay Morgan, Jeff Janda, Jan Buchs

NAY: None

The motion carried.

Bus Bid

Chairman Ferraro asked for a motion to approve the vehicle bid from Best Bus Sales for the purchase of two 2024 Glaval Universal Buses for the price of \$128,723 per vehicle with a total capital budget impact of \$257,446. Director Janda made the motion and Director Fahnstrom seconded the motion. Upon roll being called the vote was as follows:

AYA: Carrie Fullerton, Rita Fletcher, Erika Strojinc, Ben Curcio, Steve Bessette, Craig Talsma, Jim Jarog, Ben Rea, Christina Ferraro, Bret Fahnstrom, Kevin Romejko, Diane Hilgers, Tony LaFrenere, Jay Morgan, Jeff Janda, Jan Buchs

NAY: None

The motion carried.

IT Services Provider Contract

Chairman Ferraro asked for a motion to approve the SNI Services Provider Contract for the period of \$1/1/24 to 12/31/24, with a total budget impact of \$42,693. Director Talsma made the motion and Director Bessette seconded the motion. Upon roll being called the vote was as follows:

AYA: Carrie Fullerton, Rita Fletcher, Erika Strojinc, Ben Curcio, Steve Bessette, Craig Talsma, Jim Jarog, Ben Rea, Christina Ferraro, Bret Fahnstrom, Kevin Romejko, Diane Hilgers, Tony LaFrenere, Jay Morgan, Jeff Janda, Jan Buchs

NAY: None

The motion carried.

Informational/Action Items

Accident/Injury Summary 2023

Superintendent Negrillo informed the Board that the standard Accident Incident summary report has been done away with and will be done by office staff in the future. She then reviewed her synopsis of the 2023 Accident and Injury's reported to PDRMA.

Closed Session

Chairman Ferraro asked for a motion to move into closed session at 10:58 am. Director Fullerton made the motion and Director Fletcher seconded the motion. Upon roll being called the vote was as follows:

AYA: Carrie Fullerton, Rita Fletcher, Erika Strojinc, Ben Curcio, Steve Bessette, Craig Talsma, Jim Jarog, Ben Rea, Christina Ferraro, Bret Fahnstrom, Kevin Romejko, Diane Hilgers, Tony LaFrenere, Jay Morgan, Jeff Janda, Jan Buchs

NAY: None

The motion carried.

Return in Open Session

Chairman Ferraro requested motion to return to open session at 11:46am. Director Talsma made the motion and Director Fullerton seconded the motion. Upon roll being called the vote was as follows:

AYA: Carrie Fullerton, Rita Fletcher, Erika Strojinc, Ben Curcio, Steve Bessette, Craig Talsma, Jim Jarog, Ben Rea, Christina Ferraro, Bret Fahnstrom, Kevin Romejko, Diane Hilgers, Tony LaFrenere, Jay Morgan, Jeff Janda, Jan Buchs

NAY: None

The motion carried.

Action as a result of Closed Session

The Executive Board will meet with Tracey on Monday December 15, 2023, at 12 noon to discuss her annual performance review and compensation The Board approves a merit increase of 4% in compensation and a \$1,500 Bonus. Upon roll being called the vote was as follows:

AYA: Carrie Fullerton, Rita Fletcher, Erika Strojinc, Ben Curcio, Steve Bessette, Craig Talsma, Jim Jarog, Ben Rea, Christina Ferraro, Bret Fahnstrom, Kevin Romejko, Diane Hilgers, Tony LaFrenere, Jay Morgan, Jeff Janda, Jan Buchs

NAY: None

The motion carried.

<u>Adjournment</u>

After no further business, Chairman Ferraro called for a motion to adjourn. Director Fullerton made the motion and Director Bessette seconded the motion to adjourn the December 13, 2023, meeting at 11:52am. The motion carried with voice vote.

Secretary