MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS NORTHWEST SPECIAL RECREATION ASSOCIATION HELD AT PARK CENTRAL 3000 CENTRAL ROAD, ROLLING MEADOWS, IL ON THE 15th OF MARCH, 2023, at 10:30 am

Chairman Ferraro called the meeting to order at 10:35 a.m. Administrative Manager, Jessica Vasalos took roll call. The following members of the Board were present: Carrie Fullerton, Arlington Heights Park District; Rita Fletcher, Bartlett Park District; Ryan Risinger, Buffalo Grove Park District; Tiffany Greene, Elk Grove Park District; Craig Talsma, Hoffman Estates Park District; Jim Jarog, Mount Prospect Park District; Mike Clark, Palatine Park District; Christina Ferraro, Prospect Heights Park District; Bret Fahnstrom, River Trails Park District; Kevin Romjeko, Rolling Meadows Park District; Tony LaFernere, Schaumburg Park District; Jay Morgan, South Barrington Park District; Jeff Janda, Streamwood Park District; Jan Buchs, Wheeling Park District

Absent: Bob O'Brien, Robert Dowling and Diane Hilgers

Also present: Tracey Crawford, Executive Director; Darleen Negrillo, Superintendent of Administrative Services; Tom Draper, Superintendent of Marketing and Communications; Andrea Griffin and Rachel Hubsch, Superintendents of Recreation; Anne Kiwala, Superintendent of Development; John Dufford, Manager of IT and Steve Adams, Legal Counsel.

Introduction of Guests

Tom Draper introduced John Dufford.

Public Comment

None

Approval of Agenda

Chairman Ferraro asked for a motion to approve the agenda dated March 15, 2023. Director Janda made the motion and Director Fullerton seconded the motion. Upon voice vote, the motion was carried.

Approval of Consent Agenda

Chairman Ferraro called for a motion to approve the Consent Agenda of March 15, 2023 with a correction to the minutes from the January meeting to reflect "Christina Ferraro informed the Board whether an annual appointment of the Executive Director is needed has been posed to legal counsel. We await an answer." Director Janda made the motion and Director Risinger seconded the motion to approve the Consent Agenda dated March 15, 2023. Upon roll being called the vote was as follows:

AYA: Carrie Fullerton, Rita Fletcher, Ryan Risinger, Tiffany Greene, Bob O'Brien, Craig Talsma, Jim Jarog, Christina Ferraro, Bret Fahnstrom, Kevin Romejko, Tony LaFrenere, Jay Morgan, Jeff Janda, Jan Buchs

NAY: None

The motion carried.

<u>Correspondence</u>

None

Staff Reports

Superintendent Griffin reported on a participant story that also involved a very dedicated DSP involved with the PURSUIT adult day program. She also reported to the Board what NWSRA has been doing to try and attract staff to NWSRA by attending many job fairs at university's, junior colleges and high schools. This also included a chamber event hosted at Vogelei House that had the 2nd floor dedicated to a job fair. Director Crawford informed the Board that NWSRA also joined "Clipboard", which is a site specific to DSP's to help in the staffing shortage.

Marketing and PR

Superintendent Draper reported that his department is very busy getting ready for the summer brochure. The newsletter has been published. The first bus has had its wrapping and is ready to transport participants. The Gold Medal Fashion Show was a huge success that created a lot of marketing opportunities.

SLSF

Superintendent Kiwala reported that the Gold Medal Fashion Show had 50 models and brought in about \$60,000 in revenue and was a huge success that saw increases in not only in person attendance but also virtual attendance. Multi-chamber event held at Vogelei had about 60 people come in. Golf season is starting. First outing is at Bridges of Popular Creek in May.

Directors Report

Executive Director Crawford informed the Board that we have had an amazing couple of months. Held the first preliminary MDAA Task Force meeting, held the SRA Governance Task Force meeting. SB3972 (DSP Bill) has made incredible headway with District 214. Research and outreach DEI initiative is moving along with great momementum. She just returned from the NJPR Conference.

Old Business

SRA Governance Task Force

Director Crawford and Director Buchs outlined what the task force has come up with and what the next action steps will be for the group. Looking at getting feedback from PDRMA, Robbins Schwartz, Ancil Glink, IAPD – vision outcome will be governing principals and best practices. Attorney Adams will be looking to develop a uniform guide for best practices of SRA's and having guidelines for all SRA's in what the levy will pay for.

Appointment of the Executive Director

Attorney Adams reported that he has been asked to provide an opinion on whether the Board of Directors should go through the process of appointing the Executive Director each year at its annual meeting. After reviewing the applicable law and discussing it internally with members of our Labor and Employment Group, it is our opinion that the Board should not appoint Tracey at the annual meeting. My understanding is that Tracey is not under contract and is therefore an at-will employee. The Act of "appointing" an employee on an annual basis is inconsistent with the general concept of at-will employment.

New Business

ComEd Energy Efficiency Program

Superintendent Negrillo informed the Board NW was able to piggy back with Rolling Meadows to update the lighting at NW through the Com Ed Energy Efficiency program. If NW did the work ourselves it would cost about 23,000. By upgrading through this program NW will save about 2,000 annually. The atty already reviewed the contract and was approved by the atty. The Board agreed that there is no need to vote on the contract as NW is not spending any funds on this project.

Informational/Action Items

None

Closed Session

Director Crawford asked for a motion to move into closed session to review Personnel 5ILCS 120/2 (c)(1). Director Janda made the motion and Director Fletcher seconded the motion to move into closed session. Upon roll being called the vote was as follows:

AYA: Carrie Fullerton, Rita Fletcher, Ryan Risinger, Tiffany Greene, Bob O'Brien, Craig Talsma, Jim Jarog, Christina Ferraro, Bret Fahnstrom, Kevin Romejko, Tony LaFrenere, Jay Morgan, Jeff Janda, Jan Buchs

NAY: None

The motion carried.

Director Ferraro made a motion to returned to open session at 11:19 am. Director Clark made the motion and Director Fahnstrom seconded the motion to return to open session Upon roll being called the vote was as follows:

AYA: Carrie Fullerton, Rita Fletcher, Ryan Risinger, Tiffany Greene, Bob O'Brien, Craig Talsma, Jim Jarog, Christina Ferraro, Bret Fahnstrom, Kevin Romejko, Tony LaFrenere, Jay Morgan, Jeff Janda, Jan Buchs

NAY: None

The motion carried.

Action as a Result of Closed Session

None

<u>Adjournment</u>

After no further business, Chairman Ferraro called for a motion to adjourn. Director Risinger made the motion and Director Fletcher seconded the motion to adjourn the March 15, 2023 meeting at 11:21 a.m. session Upon roll being called the vote was as follows:

AYA: Carrie Fullerton, Rita Fletcher, Ryan Risinger, Tiffany Greene, Bob O'Brien, Craig Talsma, Jim Jarog, Christina Ferraro, Bret Fahnstrom, Kevin Romejko, Tony LaFrenere, Jay Morgan, Jeff Janda, Jan Buchs

NAY: None

The motion carried.

Secretary